KiXforms Forum Index KiXforms
The Forum for the KiXforms Community
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Quick Links 
Site News
Downloads
Documentation
Donations
Script Archive
Tracking Systems

dropdown problem and EXE file

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KiXforms Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wokkeltje
KiXforms Regular
KiXforms Regular


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Torhout, Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 1:35 pm    Post subject: dropdown problem and EXE file Reply with quote

I create an execute file with KIXscript editor of my Fixform program.

Sometimes it is not possible do drop down a ComboBox.

on PC A it works al fine, on PC B unable to drop down all the comboboxes.
now both PC's have the same Kixforms build 45 rev 14.

and also on PC A the problem occurs.

On my PC I have no problem.

so my conclusion is that it is not Fixform build dependent
it is also not exe related because the same exe file works on PC and not on another.

Is there someone who has experience with this?
Is there an other way of creating an exe package?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Shawn
KiXforms Developer
KiXforms Developer


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 1983
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, first thing, does this happen when you just run the script normally, without the packager and secondly, does the ComboBox fail drop only on the first click, but drops on the second click ?

-Shawn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stevie
KiXforms Supporter
KiXforms Supporter


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to break the problem down into bitesize pieces, try running the scripts by themselves, without packaging them into an exe. If you can still repro the problem, then you've proven the problem exists elsewhere; if you cannot, then there is likely a compatibility issue between the packager and kixforms.

Please give that a whirl and let us know how it goes.
________
BMW M50 HISTORY


Last edited by Stevie on Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shawn
KiXforms Developer
KiXforms Developer


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 1983
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and ... just for a test, explicitly increase the HEIGHT of the combobox to some large number ... like this:

$ComboBox1 = $Form.ComboBox()
$ComboBox1.Height = 200

Don't forget, a ComboBox's height is a fuzzy/furry thing (kinda like the Canadian Beaver) ... the ComboBoxes height is the total dropdown height, not the actual height you see on the form, maybe this Height is somehow being truncated for some reason - if the height is being chopped, than (iirc) the box may not drop ... as an added test, make sure the HEIGHT is specified as the last property to be datafilled ... let me know if that helped ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wokkeltje
KiXforms Regular
KiXforms Regular


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Torhout, Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the problem persist if you click a second time on the combobox.
using the arrow keys will navigate trough the values in the combobox, but it will not drop down.

on My PC I never had the problem when I run the script without the packager.
I think I had the problem on my PC when I ran the execute. but I will test this tomorrow on the PC's that gave the problem now.

so it looks like the problem has to do with the exe package I think.

Is here an other program I can use to create a package? because I wan't to distribute the program trough the company in a single file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Shawn
KiXforms Developer
KiXforms Developer


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 1983
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see post above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shawn
KiXforms Developer
KiXforms Developer


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 1983
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw, you using the kixforms designer ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wokkeltje
KiXforms Regular
KiXforms Regular


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Torhout, Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just fot the initial setup of the form. More complex setting won't work in the designer.

I mis a lot of properties in the kixform designer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wokkeltje
KiXforms Regular
KiXforms Regular


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 39
Location: Torhout, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed the height of the comboboxes and now the problem seems to be solved.

So I think it would be usefull if this Canadian Beaver thing would be a bit more documented.

tnx for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KiXforms Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group